Governing Bodies

Board of Trustees

Made up of five to seven members, the Board of Trustees is responsible for maintaining the Foundation’s main principles and evaluating the general guidelines of its operation and investment policies. The Board also has the capacity to evaluate the Foundation’s budget and annual financial statements.

The Prime Minister appoints the members of the Board, two members being nominated by the Ambassador of the United States in Portugal. The terms last for seven years and can be renewed. On their first nomination, three members of the Board of Trustees will be appointed for a four-year term.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Appointed for a seven-year term, from November 18, 2013 to November 18, 2020:

Elvira Maria Correia Fortunato

José Alberto Rebelo dos Reis Lamego

José Luís Nogueira de Brito, Presidente

Rui Manuel Monteiro Lopes Ramos

Appointed 2018:
Maria Gabriela da Silveira Ferreira Canavilhas

Appointed 2015:
Mário Nuno dos Santos Ferreira


Board of Directors

There are five members of the Board of Directors, three of them make up the Executive Council. The President of the Board of Directors is inherently President of the Executive Council.

According to the statutes, the following members were appointed as such by order of the Prime Minister:

  • Rita Faden da Silva Moreira Araújo, President
  • Elsa Maria Pires Henriques
  • Vítor Ângelo Mendes da Costa Martins
  • Rodrigo Vasconcelos de Oliveira
  • James J. Kelly

The mandate of the current Board of Directors is for a five-year term beginning January 26, 2019.

Executive Council

The Executive Council is responsible for the operation of the Foundation and consists of the following members:

  • Rita Faden da Silva Moreira Araújo, President
  • Elsa Maria Pires Henriques
  • James J. Kelly